Grief, an important stage following the loss of a loved one

Grief is a painful emotional state caused by the death of a loved one. A time of pain and sorrow
that follows the loss.

The 5 stages of grief

  • Shock and denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Deep sadness
  • Acceptance

The grieving process generally lasts 6 to 24 months. A wide range of factors can influence the course and duration of the process.

Some tools to get through the rougher days:

  • Make a list of people who love you and ask them for support.

  • Go for a walk in nature.

  • Take a warm bath and get some rest.

  • Follow a daily routine and eat well.

  • Minimize decision-making, as the turmoil you’ve experienced can cloud your judgment.

  • Surround yourself with living things (plants, animals) to stay in touch with life.

  • Write about your experiences in a personal journal/diary.

  • Get a massage.

  • Go see a movie; express yourself through art; play sports.

  • Talk to someone who’s been in the same situation.

  • Participate in a growth or support group.

  • Give yourself permission to wallow in your misery.

  • Allow yourself to enjoy pleasant moments amid the pain.

  • Source: (in French only)
    Are you grieving?

    We are here to listen to you!

    Free, confidential and anonymous 365 days a year, 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.


    Support groups

    Would you like to talk to people who, like you, are grieving the loss of a loved one?

    Listening line for the bereaved


    A service offered by Tel-Écoute.

    514 493-4512


    “Talking about your sorrows, is already consoling yourself.”

    -Albert Camus